Darkwind - Viewing Topic: Krash is Crashing on his new HD
Welcome Guest! » Darkwind » Operating Systems » Windows » Krash is Crashing on his new ...

Pages: << prev 1 next >> Reply to Topic Create New Topic Create New Poll
Krash is Crashing on his new HD, wierd display issue and ingame fail
*KrashnBurn*
Krashed and Burnt
Sunday Driver

Deathrace Mafia Faction

Member Level

Group: Marshals
Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 3, 2012

Send an email to *KrashnBurn* Send a personal messsage to *KrashnBurn* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

I hope someone has an idea.

My hard-drive decided to go south for the winter and I had to pick up a nice shiny new one for my newish rig.

Reinstalled Windows 8.1 and all the drivers and downloaded DW. Initially the program ran fine except it would crash everytime I hit the "Register" button for an in town event. Always there. De-installed and Re-installed it a few times same issue.

Next tried muddling around with different setting. Finally changed the Graphic mode to D3D and when I tested it the weirdest thing happens:

Launcher launches and I see a nice new icon in my task bar but nothing on the screen. Hear the music, and if I roll-over the item on my task-bar I see it going through the normal steps (loading screen, Psycic Software, and finally the log-in screen), but can't for the life of me find a way to bring it to the visible screen... almost like it's shunting the image to a second display but I only have 1 display.

After fighting with it for a while I decided the heck with it I'll just upgrade to windows 10.... exact same issue...

Anyone have an idea on what's going on?

(Gads 3 days without DW... gonna start mounting guns on my Car soon... )
.........................
vet wv pvp3 marshal northernsummer

Posted Oct 7, 2015, 7:26 pm
*The X Man*
Better Off Dead
Darkwind Guru

Deathrace Mafia Faction

Avatar

Member Level

Group: Game Manager
Posts: 2,182
Joined: Jul 25, 2012

Send an email to *The X Man* Send a personal messsage to *The X Man* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

You are running the client in admin mode? Deleting and reinstalling to make sure there are no corrupt files. Only couple suggestions that come to mind.

I heard mixed reviews from people who upgraded to 10. One reason I won't and will stay with 8.1 for now.

Good luck and hope your issues get resolved soon.
.........................
vet wv marshal paintladder zom circuit3 paintball raceL1 race1 pvp4 hammer circuit2 pvp2 circuit1 gwped pvp5 pvp3 pvp1 deathrceL1 triangle11,2,0

Posted Oct 7, 2015, 8:15 pm
*KrashnBurn*
Krashed and Burnt
Sunday Driver

Deathrace Mafia Faction

Member Level

Group: Marshals
Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 3, 2012

Send an email to *KrashnBurn* Send a personal messsage to *KrashnBurn* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Well.. did a fresh install from the downloaded zip. Extracted it to my desktop and it seem to run correctly... just made a mess of my desktop.

Just not sure if it is a problem I'm having with the normal install file or some weird setting that get's left behind. It was running but just couldn't access it on the display (think dual monitor set up with the app being displayed on the second monitor... cept I don't have a second monitor)

Well.. time to beat on it some more. Heh.. I don't fix computer problems I just beat them into submission.
.........................
vet wv pvp3 marshal northernsummer

Posted Oct 7, 2015, 8:21 pm
*KrashnBurn*
Krashed and Burnt
Sunday Driver

Deathrace Mafia Faction

Member Level

Group: Marshals
Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 3, 2012

Send an email to *KrashnBurn* Send a personal messsage to *KrashnBurn* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Well... have completely throttled my computer into running like it should.. So far 3 events no crashes... so I guess I can put away the cattle prod and baseball bat.

Still curious on what was going on before (display issue... was really strange).
.........................
vet wv pvp3 marshal northernsummer

Posted Oct 7, 2015, 10:10 pm
*goat starer*
Special Circumstances
Darkwind Guru

Evan Reds Faction

Avatar

Member Level

Group: Sinbinned
Posts: 10,907
Joined: Oct 29, 2007

Send an email to *goat starer* Send a personal messsage to *goat starer* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

can you came round and beat the "crash every second swap between client and website" glitch out of mine?
.........................
vet wv zom pvp4 cont community deathrceL1 marshal pvp3 pvp2

Posted Oct 7, 2015, 11:55 pm
*Tango*
2ManyRads CI
Darkwind Guru

Deathrace Mafia Faction

Member Level

Group: Marshals
Posts: 2,543
Joined: Mar 21, 2010

Send an email to *Tango* Send a personal messsage to *Tango* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Dual monitors Goat?
.........................
marshal vet wv pvp5 pvp4 combat1 pvp3 zom community

Posted Oct 8, 2015, 12:58 am
*Maxxed*
[v]@Xx3D []ut
Darkwind Guru

Mutants Faction

Member Level

Group: Marshals
Posts: 961
Joined: May 20, 2010

Send an email to *Maxxed* Send a personal messsage to *Maxxed* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Ive been having the same issue - its been much worse on my newer shinier rig - previous rig was Win8 patched to 8.1 and was running fairly well aftwer matching the DW res to windows res of 1080x (even though everything else looked crap) my new rig was supplied with WIN 8.1 and has been a nightmare switching between client and webpage.

On fullscreen mode the client doesnt crash randomly very often but then it crashes almost everytime I alt-tab. On non-fullscreen mode the lobby crashes every 10 minutes or so...seems more stable when its actually in an event.

If anyone has found a 'sweetspot' match between windows dispay settings and DW display setting PLEASE SHARE them with us all as its agonizing...
.........................
vet wv deathrceL1 marshal pvp5 pvp20,0,1

Posted Oct 8, 2015, 1:02 pm Last edited Oct 8, 2015, 1:03 pm by *Maxxed*
*KrashnBurn*
Krashed and Burnt
Sunday Driver

Deathrace Mafia Faction

Member Level

Group: Marshals
Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 3, 2012

Send an email to *KrashnBurn* Send a personal messsage to *KrashnBurn* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Well.. run a dozen+ Scouts now and no more crash's. I'm running Win 10 atm, and have all setting set to max (1650x1050), OpenGL, Shamay Font, maxed draw and particles.

I do have the latest NVidia drivers installed on my GTX980 card. And both Java 32bit and 64 bit versions (was crashing on only 32bit).

Alt-tab's smoothly and can even leave it running in the background while I play something else like Elite or Civ. So Krash is a happy scouter.
.........................
vet wv pvp3 marshal northernsummer

Posted Oct 8, 2015, 9:10 pm
*goat starer*
Special Circumstances
Darkwind Guru

Evan Reds Faction

Avatar

Member Level

Group: Sinbinned
Posts: 10,907
Joined: Oct 29, 2007

Send an email to *goat starer* Send a personal messsage to *goat starer* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

yeah max... i nearly quit when i got this laptop (bad luck fools.. Im staying!!!!) its really annoying and i have tried all sorts of settings to improve it to no avail. I also started getting graphics bugs in game (missing wall textures being the main one) and have been unable to resolve that either.
.........................
vet wv zom pvp4 cont community deathrceL1 marshal pvp3 pvp2

Posted Oct 8, 2015, 9:50 pm
Reply to Topic Create New Topic Create New Poll E-mail me when replies are made to this topic View Printable
» Darkwind » Operating Systems » Windows » Krash is Crashing on his new ...

0.1284 seconds - 19 queries - 0.33 load