Darkwind - Viewing Topic: Graphics Drivers
Welcome Guest! » Darkwind » Operating Systems » Windows » Graphics Drivers

Pages: << prev 1, 2 next >> Reply to Topic Create New Topic Create New Poll
Graphics Drivers
*jimmylogan*
MADHAT
Darkwind Guru

Merchants Faction

Member Level

Group: Marshals + Rule Council
Posts: 5,557
Joined: Jun 11, 2008

Send an email to *jimmylogan* Visit *jimmylogan*'s web site Send an AIM message to *jimmylogan* Send a personal messsage to *jimmylogan* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Do you have the drivers from the graphics manufacturer? Or the latest that Windows Update gives you?

I've seen where people should use manufacturers' drivers only...

JL

.........................
vet marshal deathrceL1 wv community combatL1

Posted Jun 10, 2009, 12:30 pm
Anexian
Shadowen
Pedestrian

Renegade

Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 3, 2009

Send an email to Anexian Send a personal messsage to Anexian Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Yes, I have the latest drivers from ati, last month is when they came out.

Posted Jun 11, 2009, 2:37 am
*Bastille*
Raging Scavengers
Darkwind Guru

Evan Reds Faction

Avatar

Member Level

Group: Marshals + Contributors
Posts: 7,513
Joined: Mar 31, 2009

Send an email to *Bastille* Send a personal messsage to *Bastille* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Not a major issue, maybe just a Sargent one ... oh har har.

Experiencing small blocks on the edges of objects from some angles, has anyone else had this issue or know how to deal with it. Im using an old graphics card ATI 9800 SE, and XP sp 3, and have the latest drivers from ATI.

(expamles of this issue can be seen in some of the screens on my banter page)
.........................
marshal vet wv pvp4 zom cont pvp32,13,1

Posted Jul 12, 2009, 12:56 am
*Bastille*
Raging Scavengers
Darkwind Guru

Evan Reds Faction

Avatar

Member Level

Group: Marshals + Contributors
Posts: 7,513
Joined: Mar 31, 2009

Send an email to *Bastille* Send a personal messsage to *Bastille* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

On topic of ATI 9800SE video card, has anyone tried soldering up the jumpers to make it work like a 9800 pro? opening up an extra four video pipelines.

Nice to see some genuine user feedback
.........................
marshal vet wv pvp4 zom cont pvp32,13,1

Posted Oct 10, 2009, 6:21 am
Samuride
Sign of Five
Pedestrian

Renegade

Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 18, 2010

Send an email to Samuride Send a personal messsage to Samuride Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Sorry to ask this here, but I can't find info on this:
will the game run half-decently on a P4M/1.6 with a 16Mb ATI Radeon M6 mobile chip or is this hopeless?

Posted Mar 30, 2010, 2:58 pm
Triferus
Old Grannies
Racer

Renegade

Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 166
Joined: Oct 25, 2010

Send an email to Triferus Send a personal messsage to Triferus Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Samuride said:
Sorry to ask this here, but I can't find info on this:
will the game run half-decently on a P4M/1.6 with a 16Mb ATI Radeon M6 mobile chip or is this hopeless?


The video card is pretty iffy. Pretty much all you can do is install the game and try running it. Make sure you have the latest video drivers for your video card.
.........................
vet wv

Posted Jan 30, 2011, 4:35 am
rafaris
Renegade Hogs
Pedestrian

Merchants Faction

Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 14, 2011

Send an email to rafaris Send a personal messsage to rafaris Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

For the openGL slow downs, it's actually a part of the resource manager. If you were to run openGL in full screen mode it *SHOULD* be withing a couple fps of DX, though Mircosoft has definitely done some funky stuff that makes DX easier to code fast stuff with.
As for what drivers, it would depend on what graphics card you have. you can check what card you have by right clicking my computer and going to your device manager and checking what display adapter you have. From there it is *USUALLY* pretty easy to get the most recent drivers for that card from the manufactures web page. Hope that helps.
.........................
vet wv

Posted Mar 17, 2011, 11:26 pm
*Bastille*
Raging Scavengers
Darkwind Guru

Evan Reds Faction

Avatar

Member Level

Group: Marshals + Contributors
Posts: 7,513
Joined: Mar 31, 2009

Send an email to *Bastille* Send a personal messsage to *Bastille* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

My targetting lines take on the colour of my movement/stress ring. Peds take on a grey line from their movement line.

I brought this up in a nother thread, and someone had the same thing and a fix, but I coudn't find it.

All this happened when I upgraded to a new machine with Win 7 and an ATI 6450. I have the latest drivers from the AMD website, installed.

.........................
marshal vet wv pvp4 zom cont pvp32,13,1

Posted Apr 13, 2011, 7:38 am Last edited Apr 13, 2011, 7:38 am by Bastiel
Jeelz
The Dionysian Dozen -CHQ-
Darkwind Guru

Mutants Faction

Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 1,054
Joined: Apr 30, 2009

Send an email to Jeelz Send a personal messsage to Jeelz Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

I didn't have a fix - but it's been happening to me since I updated my drivers from the same website. I just put up with it. I guess you could try rolling back the driver to an older version.
.........................
vet wv combatL1 raceL1 deathrceL1 paintladder

Posted Apr 13, 2011, 7:53 am
*Bastille*
Raging Scavengers
Darkwind Guru

Evan Reds Faction

Avatar

Member Level

Group: Marshals + Contributors
Posts: 7,513
Joined: Mar 31, 2009

Send an email to *Bastille* Send a personal messsage to *Bastille* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

ahh.

The roll back is worth a try, it wasn't so bad at first, but I find it really anoying now. I can't see how accurate I am at a glance and now have to check my manage page.

Cheers for getting back to me Jeelz
.........................
marshal vet wv pvp4 zom cont pvp32,13,1

Posted Apr 13, 2011, 10:03 am
Jeelz
The Dionysian Dozen -CHQ-
Darkwind Guru

Mutants Faction

Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 1,054
Joined: Apr 30, 2009

Send an email to Jeelz Send a personal messsage to Jeelz Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

lemmie know if the rollback works, I might do the same.
.........................
vet wv combatL1 raceL1 deathrceL1 paintladder

Posted Apr 13, 2011, 10:41 am
*Bastille*
Raging Scavengers
Darkwind Guru

Evan Reds Faction

Avatar

Member Level

Group: Marshals + Contributors
Posts: 7,513
Joined: Mar 31, 2009

Send an email to *Bastille* Send a personal messsage to *Bastille* Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

I just have to workout how lol

seems I can't do a straight roll back, maybe I already had the latest drivers. I've downloaded the feb release driver and will try that.

Do you (or anyone else with an ATI card and win 7) have an issue where windows overrides the catalyst control centre settings? I often have to selct the over ride settings button in the CCC.

EDIT: damn WIn7 uninstalled the latest driver, and it won't let me install another one. All the driver boxes are greyed out. Why did they have to make win 7 more like OS, arg!

Edit le Edit: Ok, so all the bush turkeys running around my backyard has had some effect on my brain "Hey fella..."

I already had the feb driver installed, and a march driver is now available (it was only a week ago I installed the feb one as the latest update from AMD, go figure) I installed the march driver and no change :(
.........................
marshal vet wv pvp4 zom cont pvp32,13,1

Posted Apr 14, 2011, 1:52 am Last edited Apr 14, 2011, 2:56 am by Bastiel
Reply to Topic Create New Topic Create New Poll E-mail me when replies are made to this topic View Printable
» Darkwind » Operating Systems » Windows » Graphics Drivers

0.1559 seconds - 22 queries - 0.33 load